053017__the most important symbol__

My boyfriend asked me if I was going to share everything. I’m not sure if I will. There’s a lot of things that happened in my life that I just don’t bring up. I don’t remember a lot of things growing up but the things I do remember have scarred me so deep that I could never forget. I don’t know all the details about what happened and why it happened. I just know what I saw and experienced as a child. 

103060_091202

These series of numbers may mean nothing at first but to me it’s the birth and death of my mom. 

I didn’t know much about my mother; she died when I was 11. I try to list everything I can remember about her sometimes but I find myself asking what her favorite color was? Or why she left Honduras? Sometimes I can’t help but think that I should have asked her more about her. Like did she like her job? Was she happy with her life?

Questions I’ll never get answers to.

I did leave one symbol in that series of numbers. The dash between the two dates on any tombstone is the most important symbol to me – it’s the time that we’re alive. That’s right now for you and me. And we can do whatever we want with that time. For some that time is too short, for some that may be 80 or 90 years. 

No one knows what the first date or last date will be. All we can do is make the most of that dash. Love your family and friends fiercely, as if you could lose them tomorrow. Do the best to handle whatever situation you’re in (whether by choice or because shit just happens), try not to hurt anyone, make things right, forgive freely and enjoy every single day that you are alive. 

Leave a Reply

